Angelina College Employees Earn National Honors

Angelina College is proud to announce its recipients of the annual National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence Awards. This year’s honorees include Beckie Compton, Music instructor, Robbie Roach, Art instructor, Debra Jenke, Government instructor and Janice Huffman, Grants director.

Beckie Compton has been a music instructor at Angelina College since 1998. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in musc from Stephen F. Austin State University. “Giving students the opportunity to be successful is a tremendous privilege,” she said. “There is much more at stake than just what we endeavor to accomplish inside the classroom. Outside of our walls is a world that needs the best part of each of us. Find that and share it!”

Art instructor Robbie Roach began her career at AC in 1993. She earned her Bachelor of Fine Arts, Master of Arts, and Master of Fine Arts degrees from SFASU. Roach said, “While striving to help my students become passionate learners and creators, my own life has been enriched, a gift for which I thank them openly and often.”

Debra Jenke has been a Government instructor at AC since 2000. She earned her associate’s degree at Angelina College and her Bachelor of Arts for Teaching degree and and Master of Arts degree from Sam Houston State University. “Every day in the classroom is a great day.  Most days I learn as much from my students as they do from me. The door to the classroom closes, and we create a wonderful world where government and politics can be  studied, then discussed  as if among friends,” said Jenke.

Janice Huffman began her career at Angelina College in 2002 as the Workforce and Technical Skills Lab Assistant, a position which was later renamed Workforce Development Specialist. In 2006 Huffman was promoted to Workforce Development Coordinator. She was recently promoted to Director of Grants and Sponsored Programs.

NISOD’s Excellence Awards recognize men and women each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. In 1989, in connection with a University of Texas at Austin national study of teaching excellence, NISOD hosted its first ceremony honoring NISOD Excellence Award recipients. The response to that ceremony was so positive that NISOD began what has become the largest and most inspiring gathering that recognizes the contributions and achievements of community and technical college faculty, administrators, and staff.

Angelina College President Dr. Michael Simon said, “It is extremely gratifying to see Angelina College faculty and staff’s efforts recognized at the national level. I’m proud of how our instructors always do their best to help students reach their full potential and how our staff strives to operate in a professional and effective manner.”

Excellence Award recipients will be celebrated during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, May 26-29, in Austin, Texas. During the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration, held in conjunction with NISOD’s annual conference, each Excellence Award recipient receives a specially cast, pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon. The names, titles, and colleges of all Excellence Award recipients are included in a special booklet that features congratulatory ads from many of the recipients’ colleges. In addition, presentations at the conference involving Excellence Award recipients are indicated in the Conference Program with a special icon.

Beckie Comton


Robbie Roach


Debra Jenke


Janice Huffman