CJ (Regulation) – Transportation Management


VEHICLE USE AND TRANSPORTATION
Persons who intend to drive College District vehicles must submit appropriate driver information to the physical plant office and be approved by the plant manager and the insurance carrier before operating any College District vehicles.

Drivers of College District vehicles must: (1) be at least 18 years of age, (2) have a valid Texas driver’s license, (3) have completed a designated driver safety course, and (4) be approved through a background screening process.

Drivers will be subject to random drug testing as required by state and federal law. Drivers of College District vehicles will receive compensation per trip hour.

Drivers must submit a completed, signed trip ticket to receive payment. For overnight travel, the College District shall provide meals and lodging for the bus driver.

Drivers of College vehicles will be responsible for requiring that passengers wear seat belts. The driver may refuse to transport noncompliant passengers.

Drivers will perform a vehicle inspection before leaving the College. The inspection shall include all lights, turn signals, gauges, horn, tires, and brakes.

Damages or problems should be brought to the attention of the plant manager.

Drivers must complete a form 8 and appropriate payroll paperwork to receive compensation.

Faculty, administrators, and other exempt personnel shall be paid for driving College District vehicles at the approved rates unless the trip is part of their own scheduled assignment, duty, or professional development.

Individuals who operate a vehicle designed to transport more than 15 people (including the driver) must have a valid commercial driver’s license. This license may be obtained through the Texas Department of Public Safety. The College District will reimburse College District employees who obtain this license in order to drive College District vehicles.

VEHICLE USAGE
All College District-owned vehicles shall be registered in the name of the College District, shall be identified by the appropriate College District insignia plainly legible at a distance of not less than 100 feet, and shall be licensed as tax exempt in the name of Angelina County Junior College District.

All College District vehicles shall be maintained and inspected as required by the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic on the Highways.

College District vehicles are available for use by College District employees for College District business only.

The division designated will be charged a rate per mile as identified in DEE(EXHIBIT), which includes the cost of fuel, oil, emergency repairs (if necessary), and a driver (if necessary).

College District gasoline credit cards are to be utilized for the purchase of fuel, oil, and emergency repairs to College District vehicles and College approved rental vehicles. Under no circumstances should food, lodging, or other expenses unrelated to the operation of the vehicle be charged to the College District gasoline credit card.

A trip ticket must be completed each time a College vehicle is used.

Reservations may be made using the vehicle request form available through the physical plant office. Approved reservations will be made on a first-come, first-serve basis. However, the administration reserves the right to make changes to serve the best interests of the College District.

Only full-time employees may reserve vehicles and are responsible for the care of vehicles while in their possession.

Insurance information and emergency notification information shall be maintained in the glove compartment of each vehicle.

REVISED: 06/12