BG (Regulation) – Administrative Organization Plan


1.01     The primary function of administration is to provide effective, efficient and dynamic leadership that will ensure that the College District fulfills its mission and achieves its goals. The administration is fully committed to the concept that instruction, the teaching/learning interaction between faculty and learners, is the focal point of the College District, and the primary reason for its existence.

1.02     Administrators should do everything possible to create an atmosphere in which faculty and learners can optimally function. Administrators are expected to operate in accordance with the College District policies in carrying out their responsibilities. In this setting, it is the duty and responsibility of the faculty and the learners to communicate to the administrators any policies and procedures that appear to stand in the way of the optimum teaching/learning process and to recommend appropriate changes.


2.01     The ultimate responsibility for the governing of the College District shall be vested in the College President and the Board of Trustees.  The President is the chief administrative officer of the College District, subject to the policies and action of the Board. The Vice President of Academic Affairs, the Vice President of Business Affairs, the Dean of Student Affairs, the Dean of Community Services, the Director of Information Technology, the Director of Human Resources, and the Director of Communications are each responsible to the College President for their respective areas of operation. In the absence of the College President, the Vice President of Academic Affairs and the Vice President of Business Affairs are authorized to perform necessary functions and take necessary decisions normally taken by the College President.

2.02     At the head of each instructional division of the College District is an Associate Dean of Instruction, who is responsible to the Vice President of Academic Affairs for the operation of that division. Each individual faculty member reports to an Associate Dean of Instruction.


3.01     The components of a shared responsibility for leadership and decision-making are as follows:

  • Executive Council, which comprises the College President, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Vice President of Business Affairs, Dean of Student Affairs, and Dean of Community Services.
  • The College District’s Standing Committees, which form a framework for shared governance; strategic planning and execution; assessment and continuous improvement; and compliance with SACSCOC accreditation standards, THECB regulations, and state and federal laws. The Accreditation and Planning Steering standing committee annually appoints the chair and members of each Standing Committee, and monitors committee work through meeting minutes and reports.
  • College President
  • Board of Trustees

3.02     Other lines of responsibility are indicated on the organizational chart. Each staff and faculty member is encouraged to follow the organizational chart to communicate concerns about any policy, procedure, action, or decision that appears to stand in the way of the optimum teaching/learning process and to recommend appropriate changes.

Organization Chart