The Smith-Hutson Scholarship Program, one of the larger privately funded scholarship programs in the state, has announced that it will be available to students at Angelina College beginning this fall.

Angelina College is the first community college in the state chosen for the program. The Smith-Hutson Scholarship, funded by an anonymous donor with roots in the East Texas area, was started in 1996 at Sam Houston State University and was recently expanded to Lamar University and the Lamar Institute of Technology.

Jennifer Standley, Angelina College Scholarship Coordinator, said she anticipates awarding up to 10 scholarships the first year and growing the program to up to as many as 30 scholarships per year afterward. The scholarship recipients will be students demonstrating need, even if some financial aid is already available to them, who are committed to completing an Associate Degree or Certificate program. The award will cover tuition, fees, and books and may cover some living expenses.

Robert E. Hutson, a Lufkin native and retired Houston Banker who manages the program said, “We are excited about being able to offer this opportunity to the students of Angelina College as this is a very generous scholarship that has changed the lives of many people at the other colleges.”

“We are obviously pleased and honored that the Smith-Hutson Scholarship Program has chosen Angelina College to be the first community college included.” said Angelina College president Dr. Larry Phillips. “We also are happy that the scholarship will not only be available to students getting the two-year Associate Degree for transfer to a university, but also will be available to students committed to completing a technical/occupational program.”

Standley said scholarship applications are now available through the AC Scholarship office. The deadline for applying is April 18, 2014.

Standley added that AC is still accepting applications for numerous other AC scholarships for prospective students looking to enroll for the Fall 2014 semester. The deadline for those applications is June 15, 2014.