General Information

General Information


The Angelina County Junior College District was established by an election held September 24, 1966. The organization of the College District was promulgated and sponsored by the Education Committee of the Angelina County Chamber of Commerce.

At the regular meeting on December 12, 1966, the Board of Trustees elected Dr. Jack W. Hudgins, Dean of Grayson County College, as the first President of Angelina College.

Construction of the original seven building campus started in November of 1967. The contracting firm for the six instructional buildings was Kasch Brothers, Inc., of Big Spring, Texas. The contractor for the student center building was T. G. Evans of Nacogdoches. The architects for the College were Kent, Marsellos, and Scott of Lufkin, Texas. Angelina College opened its doors to students in the fall of 1968.


Rating and Accreditation

Angelina College is approved by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the Texas Education Agency. The College holds membership in the Association of Texas Colleges and Universities and is a member of the American Association of Community and Junior Colleges. Angelina College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate degree levels – Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, Associate in Applied Science and certificates. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Angelina College.


Notice Of Non-Discrimination Statement

It is the policy of Angelina College to provide an educational and working environment that provides equal opportunity to all members of the college community. In accordance with federal and state law, the college prohibits unlawful discrimination in its programs, activities and employment opportunities on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, age, religion, creed, or veteran status. Inquiries and complaints of violation of Title VI (race, color, religion or national origin): Title IX (sex); Section 504 (disability); Title II, ADA (disability); or Age Discrimination Act should be directed to: Mr. Steve Hudman, Dean of Student Services, 3500 South First, Lufkin, TX 75904, telephone 936-633-5293. Requests for accommodation of a disability should be directed to Student Services, Special Student Support Services Coordinator 936-633-5292.


Institutional Research

To meet the requirements of accreditation, to provide for continuing program development and evaluation, and to enhance administrative and support services, the college must conduct on-going research. These assessments will provide data for continuous improvement of the programs, services and operations of the college. The students may be required to take additional examinations, participate in surveys and/or provide samples of their work throughout their academic careers in support of this program.


Distance Learning

Angelina College operates teaching centers located in Crockett (Houston County), Hemphill (Sabine County), Jasper (Jasper County), Livingston (Polk County), Nacogdoches Center (Nacogdoches County), Sabine Area Career Center (Sabine County), San Augustine (San Augustine County), Trinity (Trinity County), and Woodville (Tyler County). In addition, courses are offered through interactive video, via the Internet and through the Virtual College of Texas in joint cooperation with other Texas colleges. All general academic regulations in effect on the Lufkin campus are maintained at the teaching centers and in other methods of distance learning delivery of courses.

Angelina College offers courses in high schools in the twelve county service area. Additionally, Angelina College has an ECHS (Early College High School) agreement with PARAMUS, the Early College High School with Pineywoods Community Academy (Angelina County). The ECHS is on Lufkin campus.